right here, write now

2018 Writers Competition


Write On The River proudly announces the six finalists in the 2018 Writers Competition. The annual competition, in its 10th year, continues to further our mission to “foster and encourage writers from inspiration to publication” with $1200 in cash awards and written critiques. It is open to any writer in the state of Washington.

Christina Jones from Spokane (Fiction, first place for “Old Souls”)
Tamiko Jordan from Leavenworth (Fiction, second place for “Blood Will Tell”)
Melissa Gale from Cashmere (Fiction, third place for “Leon Loves Purple Too”)
R.D. Longmeier from Wallula (Nonfiction, first place for “Wintertime Blues”)
F. Margo Hornback from Leavenworth (Nonfiction, second place for “Sands of Time”)
John Gallanis from East Wenatchee (Nonfiction, third place for “Crackers and Cheese”)

Judges and critique writers for this year’s competition were Matthew Sullivan and David Hammond, both of whom are past winners and teach English at Big Bend Community College, Andy Behler, a humanities professor at Wenatchee Valley College, Lindsay Francis, a journalist with the Wenatchee World, Holly Thorp, public relations writer for Wenatchee Valley College and Marlene Farrell, fiction and freelance writer, WOTR volunteer, and past winner of the WOTR nonfiction category. Also writing additional commentary for those who requested it were avid reader/writers Susan Lagsdin, Mike Irwin, Peggy Peterson, Sherrill Keller, Richard Taylor and Mike Cassidy, all past judges.

You can hear many of these winning writers read their submissions as invited guests at the Spring “Four Minutes of Fame” on Thursday May 17 at Bob’s Burgers & Brew in East Wenatchee. The open mic event is open to the public, and additional reading spaces are still available. Email info@writeontheriver.org to sign up.

If you are a writer, aspiring or published, and you’re interested in honing your craft further, consider registering for the June 23 Summer Writers Weekend: “Focus on Fiction” at WVC. Look for class descriptions and registration information on this site very soon.


Click Here to Read the Winning Entries