2017 Competition Winners

by admin Conference News. Posted on May 26, 2017.
The 6th annual Chelsea Cain High School Writers Competition awarded a $100 prize for the winner, $25 gift certificates from A Book For All Seasons for the two honored finalists, and personally inscribed journals from author Chelsea Cain for all the finalists. All three boys are juniors. Honored finalists are Jorge Rodriguez (Cashmere High School) for “My Three Birthdays” and Logan Reinier (Entiat Middle-High School) for “Willow.” The winner is Chris Danko (Wenatchee High School), who wrote “Swing and a Miss.”
The 9th annual Write on the River Competition, with $1200 in cash awards, featured seven writers, all from north central Washington. An honorable mention for fiction went to Sadonna Heathman for “There Ain’t No Strangers Here.” In nonfiction, the third-place winner was Mary Gallagher for “The Fruit Room. In second place was Rachael Lundin, who wrote “Road Trip!” The first-place winner in nonfiction was Judy Brezina, for “Eliot.” For fiction, in third place was Jen Barger, who wrote “Pocket.” In second place was the author of “The Wedding Cake,” Daniel Klayton. And the first-place fiction winner was Desiree Donohue, author of “The Eighth Day.”