right here, write now

WOTR Writers Contest Fun Facts

WHADDAYA KNOW . . . about the Write on the River Writers Competition?

Take a look at these fun factoids:

The first year’s competition in 2008 offered three prizes ($100, $50 and $25), and each fiction or nonfiction entry started with the phrase “On the river….” The top writers were Rachel Lundin, Allen Cox and Shannon Sims; Gloria Roberson won an Honorable Mention.

Since then, 788 entries have been submitted, and 66 writers have won awards or commendations. Six writers have placed two times: Rachel Lundin, Desiree Donohue, Jennifer Barger, Carolyn Wilson, Jake Lodato and Robert Longmeier. Barbara Miller placed three times, winning first place in 2012.

The number of entries per year has ranged from 47 at the start to a high of 96. The average number of entries per year is 72, usually about a third nonfiction and two-thirds fiction. Six times, judges have offered Honorable Mentions to exceptional writers beyond the winning writers.

Annually, about 1/3 of all entrants ask for written commentary on their manuscripts, three independently-written critiques from competition judges or writing professionals. Some years up to 90 critiques have been assigned, written, collected, collated and mailed back to writers.

Ninety-nine local individuals have taken time over a span of six weeks every spring to judge submissions and/or write critiques – the top repeating volunteers are Mike Cassidy, Mark Neher, Patricia Rutledge, Dan Sconce, Orin Melvin, Theresa Monsey, Sherrill Keller, Mike Irwin, and Richard Taylor.

$12,000 in cash awards has been distributed to encourage writers since the second year, when prizes were raised to $300, $200, and $100 for two genre categories. (Thanks to ALCOA, our major sponsor from 2009—2015.)

SO – what are you waiting for?  Become a part of Write On The River history!

Click HERE to download entry form.

(Mail your submission by February 15)